Once a job is allocated to a resource (job status is "Pending Dispatch"), a scheduler can dispatch the job via the job details view or from the scheduling console.
Short Video Explainer
Dispatch a Job (3 min 10)
Preferred Notification Method
Resources need to be notified when new jobs are allocated to them. There are two ways that a resource can be notified:
- By "Push." Push messages are sent to the resource's mobile phone via their internet connection. The resource must be logged into the Skedulo mobile app to receive these messages.
- By "SMS." Text messages are sent to the resource's mobile number directly and can be read using their default messaging app.
Each resource should be configured with a preferred notification method. But if required, the notification method can be overridden by the scheduler, when the job is ready for dispatch.
For example, a resource has their preferred notification method set to "Push," so they will receive all their job notifications via push notifications by default. However, if they do not have a stable internet connection to receive the push notifications, the scheduler may want to temporarily change their resources preferred notification method to SMS.
If neither notification method is possible, a workaround is available—"Manually log response." Using this option, the scheduler can manually set the job status to "Confirmed or Declined" on behalf of the resource (a text record can also be appended).
Figure 1. The preferred notification method options.
How to Dispatch Jobs from the Job Details View
Once a date, time and resource have been allocated to a job, a notification can be sent to the mobile worker to inform them that they have a new job in their queue.
To send a notification either click on the "Dispatch" button per resource or the "Dispatch All" button (the arrow) at the top of the allocated resources panel.
Figure 2. Three resources allocated to a job, one has been notified, the others require dispatching.
Once "Dispatch" has been pressed, the scheduler is presented with a confirmation message. Click "Ok" to send the notification.
Figure 3. The dispatch confirmation message for a single resource.
Note! If there are multiple resources allocated to a job, that job's status will only update once all resources have updated their job allocation status.
For example, three resources were allocated to the same job. One has been notified, but the other two have yet to receive the job notification (the notification has not been sent). In this scenario, the job will still appear as "Pending Dispatch." Only when every resource has updated their status (i.e., both have been notified) will the job status change to "Dispatched" on the job card, in the job details, and in the job status panel.
How to Dispatch Jobs from the Scheduling Console
To dispatch a job from the scheduling console, first, select the job from the job list panel then click on the "Notify" button in the action bar above the swimlanes.
Figure 4. A job pending dispatch, selected for notification in the scheduling console.
Note! The selected job(s) must have a job status of "Pending Dispatch" before a resource can be sent a notification.
How to Dispatch Jobs from the Jobs Console
It is also possible to dispatch jobs via the jobs console. To do so, just select a job "Pending Dispatch" (i.e., check the checkbox next to its job number). This will expose some additional action buttons at the top of the job list—one of them being a "Notify " button. Click this button to dispatch the job.
Figure 5. Dispatching multiple jobs via the jobs console.
Tip! To bulk notify a resource (or resources), or notify them again, just apply a filter to target them (like "Allocated Resources" and "Job Status"), select the jobs from the results, and click "Notify."
Where is the Dispatch Button?
If a resource(s) is allocated to a job, but the date and time are not defined, the "Dispatch" button will not be available. Once the date is set, the dispatch button will appear.
Figure 6. The job cannot be dispatched without setting a date.
If a notification fails, the scheduler will be notified by warning messages or alerts.
Also, see Notification Failure.