From time to time a user may need to cancel a job which they have been allocated. This option is available to Skedulo X users–however, it is not enabled by default.
To activate this feature, turn on the admin setting "Allow resources to cancel allocated jobs" –this will expose the "Cancel Job" option in the blue "Actions" button in the job's details (hint–look under the map).
Once permitted, a user can cancel an allocated job that has been accepted–for themselves and all the other assigned resources.
Cancel a Job
Once accepted, the option to cancel will appear in the "Actions" button menu. Tapping on "Cancel Job" presents a sliding view where the user must pick a cancellation reason from a drop-down menu before they can successfully decline. Tapping the check mark icon will save the selection and cancel the job. The reason chosen will be transmitted back to the web app.
Figure 1. Examples showing the steps for how to cancel a job on Skedulo X.
Figure 2. Examples showing the steps for how to cancel a job on Skedulo X, miss picking a reason results in a prompt to select one.
Figure 3. Examples showing the steps for how to cancel a job on Skedulo X, having picked a reason.
Note: When a job is canceled, the attached resource is still marked as allocated to that job in the web app swimlane–marking them unavailable to receive more work. An additional admin setting can be enabled in the web app–once set will make a resource immediately available to receive new jobs when their previous job is canceled.
Also, see Admin Settings: Workflow.