Once a job is allocated to a resource (job status is "Pending Dispatch"), a scheduler can dispatch the job via the job details view or from the scheduling console.
Short Video Explainer
Dispatch a Job (3 min 10)
Resources need to be notified when new jobs are allocated to them. There are two ways that a resource can be notified:
By "Push." Push messages are sent to the resource's mobile phone via their internet connection. The resource must be logged into the Skedulo mobile app to receive these messages.
By "SMS." Text messages are sent to the resource's mobile number directly and can be read using their default messaging app.
Each resource should be configured with a preferred notification method. But if required, the notification method can be overridden by the scheduler, when the job is ready for dispatch.
For example, a resource has their preferred notification method set to "Push," so they will receive all their job notifications via push notifications by default. However, if they do not have a stable internet connection to receive the push notifications, the scheduler may want to temporarily change their resources preferred notification method to SMS.
If neither notification method is possible, a workaround is available—"Manually log response." Using this option, the scheduler can manually set the job status to "Confirmed or Declined" on behalf of the resource (a text record can also be appended).
Once a date, time and resource have been allocated to a job, a notification can be sent to the mobile worker to inform them that they have a new job in their queue.
To send a notification either click on the "Dispatch" button per resource or the "Dispatch All" button (the arrow) at the top of the resources panel.
Once "Dispatch" has been pressed, the scheduler is presented with a confirmation message. Click "Ok" to send the notification.
If there are multiple resources allocated to a job, that job's status will only update once all resources have updated their job allocation status.
For example, three resources were allocated to the same job. One has been notified, but the other two have yet to receive the job notification (the notification has not been sent). In this scenario, the job will still appear as "Pending Dispatch." Only when every resource has updated their status (i.e., both have been notified) will the job status change to "Dispatched" on the job card, in the job details, and in the job status panel.
To dispatch a job from the scheduling console, first, select the job from the job list panel then click on the "Notify" button in the action bar above the swimlanes.
The selected job(s) must have a job status of "Pending Dispatch" before a resource can be sent a notification.
It is also possible to dispatch jobs via the jobs console. To do so, just select a job "Pending Dispatch" (i.e., check the checkbox next to its job number). This will expose some additional action buttons at the top of the job list—one of them being a "Notify " button. Click this button to dispatch the job.
To bulk notify a resource (or resources), or notify them again, just apply a filter to target them (like "Allocated Resources" and "Job Status"), select the jobs from the results, and click "Notify."
If a resource(s) is allocated to a job, but the date and time are not defined, the "Dispatch" button will not be available. Once the date is set, the dispatch button will appear.
When the "Dispatch" or "Dispatch All" button is pressed, it is expected that a job notification will be sent to the allocated resource (or resources). If a notification fails, the scheduler will be notified by a flyout (or toast) message warning them of a "Notification failure."
The information contained in the warning message can be used to identify why the notification failed to reach its destination.
The message "No mobile number set for resource" indicates the resource does not have a mobile number defined in their resource record (user profile), so they cannot receive any SMS notifications.
The message "Resource is not logged into the mobile app" is shown when the intended recipient is not (never has, or is no longer) logged into the Skedulo mobile app.
For "Push" notifications (only), the dispatch button will be enabled even if the notification will fail. This is because resources will be notified about the job when they log back into Skedulo mobile app. A warning message will indicate when a failure occurs, e.g., "Push notification failed. Joshua Rowe is not logged into the mobile app. The job has still been dispatched and will appear in the Agenda view when the user next logs in."
If there is a problem with dispatch to a single resource, a small orange warning triangle appears on their resource card (next to their notification preference). Clicking on this small triangle reveals a pop-up with details about the failure. For some failure types, a quick-link may help the scheduler resolve the issue.
The following list provides a few things you can check when the dispatch fails:
Check to see if the dispatcher has the "Scheduler" permission set assigned in the CRM (you need that to schedule jobs).
Check to see if the "skeduloUserType" has been set to "Scheduler" in the dispatcher's user profile (in their CRM).
If the dispatch fails with an error notification saying "Warning," check that:
The resource has installed the Skedulo mobile app on their mobile device.
The resource is logged into the correct Skedulo server using Skedulo mobile app.
Check that the resource has a valid device and contact number defined in their resource profile.